Interview With Pete Gold

Pete Gold is quite a fresh face in the world of gaming, having only played one role. Despite this, that one role played has gripped millions worldwide and provided endless hours of entertainment. Pete Gold voices the outspoken, blasphemous character of ‘Hoxton’ is the massively popular game ‘Payday’.


Hey Pete, it’s wonderful to be able to interview you for my blog!

Thanks for having me. I’m always happy to chat about Hoxton and Payday.

So you’re largely recognised for your voice as ‘Hoxton’ in the hugely popular game ‘Payday’. What was it like to record and work for that franchise?

It was absolutely brilliant fun. There’s so much content and so much detail. It was hours and hours of proper acting. Shouting, whispering, pretending to be shot and tortured. It was like being in the playground again.

What is your overall opinion/ thoughts on the Payday fan-base?

Everyone is so passionate about the game and so supportive. For a bunch of people who like to shoot stuff to bits, they’re a really nice crowd! šŸ˜‰

Have you ever sat down and played the game yourself, or even online with random people?

I’ve only ever played the game once (in its very early days). I was crap and mostly walked into walls and shot bystanders.

Where do you see yourself in ten years time?

i hope I’ll still be doing voice-over work (I’ve been doing it for 16 years now). I’d love to do more video games. It’s my dream to voice a big Hollywood animation (guess I better join the queue!)

I also see you’re a comedy singer/ songwriter. How did that come about?

I was in a comedy sketch group at university and I ended up being the guy who wrote the silly songs for the shows. I later did some solo stuff. Stand up and songs. I still want to write more comedy songs (and maybe some not so comedy songs too)

what attracted you to ‘creative’ industry, such as gaming and your comedy singing?

I’ve always been into singing. I was in a choir at 8 and have always been surrounded by music. I got into acting at university and sort of fell into voice-over when my brother (also a voice-over) set up an agency and needed someone to run it.

What were your aspirations as a young child?

I think I wanted to be an actor. Or a spy. Or and astronaut.

If you could give advice to a young person in today’s society, what would you say to them?

My primary school teacher told our class when I was 5, “Be a do-er, not a boo-er”. I think that sunk in. Work hard, get involved in as many clubs and societies and activities as you can. Make sure you get your grades. Be kind to others. Respect your parents. That kind of stuff.

Gaming has come a long way in the past decade. Where do you see it heading next, both in term of post and pre production?

Well. I’m not a gamer but I’m aware of the incredible advances in technology over the last decade. I can only imagine that games will become even more ‘filmic’, even more epic, even more immersive, and even more a product of the input of the fans. It’s an exciting prospect.

You’ve been known to send fans voice-clips of yourself saying what they want to (my brother included!) To what extent do you enjoy interacting with fans?

I love it. I wish I had more time to do it really. As well as the usual text alerts and birthday messages, I’ve voiced get well wishes, charity messages, and helped two Payday fans propose to their girlfriends. How cool is that? It’s great to be able to say thank you to everyone for their support and to make people happy just by saying a few words.

Its been great to interview you, and its been a pleasure to see your responses! Good luck on your future plans. 

Thanks for having me. It’s always a pleasure.


You can engage with Pete on his Twitter: @petegold_

Leave a Reply

